Mumtaz Mufti Complete Novels List

Sunday, January 23, 2011 by: Admin

Mumtaz Mufti (September 11, 1905 - October 27, 1995), was a distinguished writer from Pakistan.

Mumtaz Mufti was born in Batala, Punjab, (now in India). He was a son of Mufti Muhammad Hussain and his first wife Sughra Khannum. He became a civil servant under British rule and started career as a school teacher. Soon after partition, he migrated to Pakistan with his family.

Mumtaz Mufti started writing Urdu short stories while working as a school teacher before partition. In the beginning of his literary career, he was considered a non-conformist writer having liberal views, who appeared influenced by Freud. His transformation from Liberalism to Sufism was due to his inspiration from Qudrat Ullah Shahab. All the same, he did manage to retain his individual accent and wrote on subjects which were frowned upon by the conservative elements in society.

The two phases of his life are witnessed by his autobiographies, Ali Pur Ka Aeeli and Alakh Nagri. According to forewords mentioned in his later autobiography, Ali Pur Ka Aeeli is an account of a lover who challenged the social taboos of his times, and Alakh Nagri is an account of an acolyte who greatly influenced by the mysticism of Qudrat Ullah Shahab. 
 Awards: 1986: Sitara-e-Imtiaz 1989: Munshi Premchand Award 

  The following novels are the work of Mumtaz Mufti (To download novel click on the novel's name)   Alakh Nagri Alipur Ka AileeUn Kahi Chup Guria Ghar Ismaraeen Kahi Na Jai Labbaik Muftianey Nizam e Sakaa Roughani Putlay Samay Ka Bandhan TalashRam Din